[The virtuoso and the devil]

Niccolò Paganini (1782-1840), ´Centone di sonata´, Op.64, MS 112, for violin and guitar                                                         
Sonata No.1 in a minor Sonata No.4  in A major
Erzhan Kulibaev violin / David Martínez guitar
Giuseppe Tartini (1692-1770), Il Trillo Del Diavolo in g minor , B.g5, for violin and string quartet
Alissa Margulis violin / Marta Chica Martin violin / María del Mar Jurado Jiménez violin / Laura Romero Alba viola /
Tilman Mahrenholz cello

Selection of arias from the repertoire of Italian opera, for soprano and piano
Mariola Cantarero soprano / Mercedes Enciso piano
Louis Spohr (1784-1859), String sextet in C mayor, Op. 140
Jesús Reina violin / Anna Margrethe Nilsen violin / Rumen Cvetkov viola / Laura Romero Alba viola / Gabriel Ureña cello /
Tilman Mahreholz cello

1.20 h (w/out intermission)

 Program (PDF es / en) 
 (Presentation, Málaga Clásica Talents, bios) 

Many a word could be used to describe the music of Paganini; exuberant, powerful, playful, singing… Having heard this so-called “devil” of the violin play himself must have been indescribable. The audience was so taken aback by his performances, his technique and virtuosity being far beyond anything they had ever witnessed before, that they simply did not believe their eyes nor ears. He himself said that the violin was his mistress, but the guitar his true master. While one can hear a clear influence of Italian opera in Paganini, in Spohr's music a richness of sound is brought to life. He invented the violin chin rest (where performers place their chin) and rehearsal letters in the musician's scores, and made popular the use of a conducting baton. Spohr played an important role in the evolution of violin playing and his popularity as a composer and conductor at moments even rivalled that of Beethoven.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.