[Tragedy and Poetry]

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893). Meditación, Op.42, for violin and piano
Jesus Reina violin / Josu de Solaun piano

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975). Piano trio no.2 in E minor, Op.67
Erzhan Kulibaev violin / Juan Ignacio Emme cello / Josu de Solaun piano

Modest Mussorgsky (1839-1881). ‘Ah, why my sad heart’, from The Fair at Sorochyntsi, for tenor and piano
Nikolay Rimsky-Korsakov (1844-1908). ‘Sleep, my beauty’, from May Night, for tenor and piano
Aleksandr Borodin (1833-1887). ‘Recitativo y cavatina de Vladimir’ from Prince Igor, for tenor and piano
Nils Georg Nilsen tenor / Josu de Solaun piano

Winner of the composers competition. Piece for two violins, bass and piano
Laura Romero Alba violin / Jesus Reina violin / Estefania Gomez Fernandez double bass /
Oscar Martin piano

1.10 h (w/out intermission)

Program (PDF es / en)
(Presentation, Málaga Clásica Talents, bios)

A Russian evening awaits us, in the romantic  and tragic humanism of Tchaikovsky, and the cold fate of Shostakovich in the first half of the concert. The second half opens with the renaissance of Russian identity in music through three out of ‘The Five’ or Mighty Handful’, in an outpour of poetic and operatic expression by Mussorgsky, Rimsky-Korsakov and Borodin. The program closes with a winner of this years composition competition, who designed a work which has fed itself from these great Russian masters.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.