NOTICE. Start brought forward to 4:00 p.m.
Tickets already purchased for the show will be used for the new schedule.
Spectators who do not wish to attend this concert must send an email to
jguzman@teatrocervantes.es requesting a refund, which will be processed automatically as soon as service conditions make this possible.
Tickets purchased at the box offices can be returned there from the November 24.


Cello Concerto No.1 in E-flat major, Op.107, D. Shostakovich
Tilman Mahrenholz cello
Symphony No.6 in D major, Op.60, A. Dvorák

1.15 h (w/out intermission)

Program notes Jose Antonio Canton
photo ©John Apeitos

On the 2nd of August, 1959, Dmitri Shostakovich delivered the manuscript of his First Concerto for Cello and Orchestra to his friend the great cellist Mitislav Rostropovich, to whom the work was dedicated. Four days later, they got together at the composer's house in Komarovo, in the district of Leningrad, to play the concerto for the first time, with the composer at the piano. This was Shostakovich’s fourth concerto, following two for piano and one for violin. It was premiered on the 4th of October that same year by the Philharmonic of Leningrad with Rostropovich as soloist and the orchestra's legendary conductor Yevgeny Mravinsky.
Finished on the 15th of October, 1880, Dvorak's Sixth Symphony was dedicated to the great Hungarian conductor Hans Richter, who helped him during the first years of his career. It was premiered on the 25th of March the following year in Prague by the Philharmonic Orchestra with Adolf Cech as conductor. Certain analogies have been established with Johann Brahms' Second Symphony, written in the same key, although the Czech composer's symphony already show signs of his personal creative hallmark.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.